Exploring some Caithness gems
NOSS HEAD LIGHTHOUSE
Built by Alan Stevenson of the famous Stevenson family, Noss Head Lighthouse was completed in 1849. It used a new style of lantern with diagonal instead of vertical framing, which then became the Northern Lighthouse standard. The light was automated in 1987 and the original light is now in the Wick Heritage Museum wickheritage.org
Scene of cruelty - George Earl of Caithness imprisoned his son in the dungeon and allegedly fed him salt beef and no water!